Feelings Transformed

The following may or may not look familiar…. it is a something I ran across today that I wrote a year ago. It is neat to go back over past journals and posts and see where God has taken you since you wrote them. I really just wanted to (re)share these truths with those of you reading this. It brought me some encouragement today and I pray it will do the same for you! 

A Blast from the Past:April 2007-

For those of you who know me even a little you know that I am a pretty emotional individual. I am moved by the beautiful, the magnificent, the ugly and the seemingly trivial. Ear to ear smiles, robust bursts of enthusiasm, giggles, tear filled eyes, hidden inward screams of frustration, “to the point” remarks, deep conversations and silent thoughts and prayers are all a part of the slew of emotional expression I live out daily in my life. Emotions are not a negative thing. In fact, God himself expresses a wide variety of emotions. However, many times we do not know how to handle our feelings in a way that glorifies the Father. How often do we allow our feelings to tell us what is true rather than allow the truth to transform our feelings? On a daily basis we’re faced with two simple choices. We can either listen to ourselves and our incessantly shifting feelings about our circumstances or we can choose to allow the unchanging truth of God, who He is and what He has accomplished for us at the cross through His Son Jesus Christ. Emotions are a wonderful gift from God, and our relationship with God should bring strong Godly affections in our lives. But our emotions should not be vested with final authority. This should be reserved for God’s Word and God’s Word alone! Will you therefore build your life on what is real… or merely on what you feel?

Consider the following questions for yourself: Where do you constantly direct your faith? What does it rest on? Is it your emotional state that is ever-changing depending on circumstances….or is it the realities and promises that the Word of God and the Spirit of God have revealed? When you spend time with the Lord in His Word, in prayer and in service, what internal conversation takes place in your soul? Is your first reaction, “What do I feel about this?” If so, do you submit everything ultimately to your feelings? Or will you instead trust God….bowing only at His throne of truth….submitting only to His great purposes…placing your hope only in His promises…and finding peace and power only in His love? Will your initial question always be, “Do I believe it?” This is the only way to truly transform your emotions and your ultimately your heart. A spiritual mentor, friend and teacher of mine once told me, “You are what you believe,” and I have found that to always ring true. When you truly believe the gospel you will be transformed by it and it will be evident in your everyday life…despite your various circumstances and trials. You will enter into a realm of love and adoration for the Lord that you have never before experienced! Draw near to the Lord and He will draw near to you. Allow Him and the truth of His gospel to astound you like never before!

Here are some Scriptures to chew on, swallow and digest:

Jeremiah 9:23-24

Thus says the LORD, “ Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises loving kindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,” declares the LORD.

1 Corinthians 1:31

So that, just as it is written, “LET HIM WHO BOASTS, BOAST IN THE LORD.”

Lyrics That Speak:

Need
By The Benjamin Gate

The fear I carry in my heart
The things that change and turn around me
What is it that I become?
What is it that it’s all undone?
I long to be close to You
So close I disappear into You
Doesn’t matter what I try and do
You show me what is real and true
The person that I hope to be
Not bound by anyone’s opinion
A person with history
Moving to my destiny
Whatever I’m needing
Whatever I’m feeling
I give up to You
I give up to You
You hold me tight in Your hand
That’s when I feel the peace that I crave
You make me brave to withstand
You take me thru this barren land
God I hear You speak so clear
Your words melt away my fear
Even when I’m far – You are near
Your love will never disappear
That’s when I lose myself in You…

 

Rest in You
By Lori Chaffer and Don Chaffer

All of my fears and trials Lord
All of my doubts
All of my shouts
All of my fears and trials Lord
Rest in You

All that we hold and revel Lord
All of my songs
All of my longings
All that we hold and revel Lord
Rest in You

CHORUS
You’re loving
You’re patient
You’re strong and true
All goodness
All mercy
are found in You
All of the praises of the Earth
Rest in You

All of our worries and our shame
All of our hiding
All of our fighting
All of our worries and our shame
Rest in You

All of our greatest victories Lord
All of our passions
All that we have
Everything we hold back, Oh Lord
We rest in You

BRIDGE
All Praise to the One who loves me

All of the nations of the Earth
All of our wills
All of our idols
All of the nations of the Earth
They Rest in You

All of the times and seasons Lord
All of our griefs
All of the times and seasons Lord

They Rest in You

I am confident that the Lord will supply you with all the power you need to face this upcoming week with faith, hope, peace, love and God’s transforming grace… all you have to do is believe.

One thought on “Feelings Transformed

  1. Wonderful Blog Bri, It was good to talk to you last night sorry we lost the connection. Hope you are having a wounderful day. I love and miss you.
    Praying for you,
    Love MOM

Leave a Reply

