Feliz dia de las Madres

 

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored.”

— Titus 2:3-5

Being a mother is such a special role and gift that the Lord chooses to give many women. On this day, our world has chosen to celebrate mothers…. and rightfully so. Mothers are essential component to a child’s life. Some have been loved and raised by their biological mother and others have had other special women step into a similar role. Earlier today, I was doing a study on what a biblical mother looks like and couldn‘t help by be reminded of my mother and all the awesome mothers I have been blessed to know. Personally, I have had the blessing of being raised and cared for by a loving, God-fearing woman, and I have also been loved and guided by many other special women (grandmothers, aunts, teachers, friends, spiritual mentors/mothers). For this, I am incredibly grateful! I would not be the woman I am and am still in the process of becoming without the influence of all of them! Today I want to remember and give thanks for all these women (they know who they are). And I especially thank the Lord for my Mom.

The Bible tells us that children are a gift from the Lord (Psalm 127:3-5) and my mom has continued to show my brother, sister and I; not to mention all the many children the Lord has given our family the opportunity to spend time with and care for, that she sincerely believes this to be true.
I know that my mom sees her children to be gifts from God by the way she loves us. In Titus 2:4 the Greek word “phileoteknos” appears. This word represents a special kind of “mother-love”. The idea that flows out of this word is that of “preferring” your children, “caring” for them, “nurturing “ them, “affectionately embracing” them, “meeting their needs,” “tenderly befriending” each one as unique from the hand of God. We are commanded in the Scripture to see “mother-love,” as our responsibility. Both mothers and fathers are commanded to do several things in the Word:

Availability- morning, noon and night (Duet. 6:6-7)

Involvement- interacting, discussing, thinking and processing life together (Eph. 6:4)

Teaching- the Scriptures, a biblical world-view (Psalm 78:5-6, Duet. 4:10, Eph. 6:4)

Training- helping a child develop skills and discover his strengths (Proverbs 22:6)

Discipline- teaching the fear of the Lord, drawing the line consistently, lovingly, firmly (Eph. 6:4, Heb. 12:5-11, Proverbs 13:24, 19:18, 22:15, 23:13-14, 29:15-17)

Nurture- providing an environment of constant verbal support, freedom to fail, acceptance, affection, unconditional love (Titus 2:4, 2 Tim. 1:7, Eph. 4:29-32, 5:1-2, Gal. 5:22, 1 Peter 3:8-9)

Modeling with Integrity- living what you say, being a model by which a child can learn by “catching” the essence of godly living (Duet. 4:9, 15, 23, Proverbs 10:9, 11:3, Psalm 37:18, 37)

As I ran through these many attributes my mind was flooded of all the many ways my mother has lived these things out. For those who know my mom, she could be described as the true “Mrs. Incredible”…. I honestly do not know how she does it all! She is always putting others before herself, never-ceasing to show unconditional love and support to her family. She is wise, talented and caring. Although she is not perfect, I can say with confidence that she desires to grow, learn and is always seeking after God to guide her every thought, word and action . This why when I look at her I see so many qualities that I desire to possess. Some say, “More is caught than taught.” Although, my mom has proven to be a good teacher…. she is more so a model for me and someone I want to pattern my life after. The things I have learned about love, respect, commitment, compassion and sacrifice I have learned mainly by just watching her live them out. I believe her and I both know this is only because the good qualities she has come to possess and reflect are that of Christ and that is who we both ultimately desire to be like.

I have no idea why God has chosen to place me into the care and love of such awesome parents…. however, I am eternally grateful and will do all I can to take what I have been given and live it out so others might come to know Him.

As I grow and look back over my life I am beginning to realize that mothers have a unique and crucially important role in the lives of their children. Motherhood is not a chore or an unpleasant task. Just as a mother bears a child during pregnancy, and just as a mother feeds and cares for a child during infancy— so mothers also play an ongoing role in the lives of their children, teenagers, young adults and even fully-grown children. While the role of motherhood must change and develop— the love, care, nurture and encouragement a mother gives should never cease.

Likewise, the qualities of a mother are qualities that we should all strive to live out. Mothers do not necessarily have to be “literal mothers” in order to love others as a mother would. Although I would gladly accept the role/honor of being a mother one day, I may or may not ever actually be a “literal mother.” However, that should not prevent me from loving others the way my mom has loved me. I know what an important role and responsibility the Lord has given me in discipling children and young people right now, today. I do not have to be a literal mother in order to take what I have learned from my mom and live it out. The Lord has called us all (mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, etc.) to be loving, caring, nurturing and encouraging to those around us.

A SHOUT OUT TO YOU MOM!

I miss not being able to share Mothers Day with you today…. but you must know that you are not far from my thoughts and prayers. Thanks Mom for teaching me all of this and for teaching me the ways in which I should walk in order to glorify God! You are forever a part of me. I am honored to call you my Mom and I love you very much!

Your Daughter,

Bri

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Feliz dia de las Madres

  1. WOW, Great Blog Baby I miss you to!!! Sorry that the phone cut us off so many times yeaterday. Yet it was wonderful to hear your voice. I do count it a great blessing to have been given the gift of raising all three of you we have alway seen you as the Lords and he has given you to us for a season to raise but forever to Love and be a Mom to. This is a great resposiblilty and gift from God. I’m truely blessed by all three of you the Wonderful Christian Young Adults you all three are shines brite where ever you serve.

    To put eothers first is something that you all understand and to pour into others is something you all do so well. I think it comes from remembering as you put it so well in your BLOG more things are caught than taught and your children, friends and everyone else are watching so try and it is sometimes hard to ALWAYS remember you are here to raise up others, not to cause others to stumble and all will be well.

    I am so proud of you and the work you are doing everywhere you go, not just Honduras but truely everywhere you are and everyone you pour into are being blessed daily by you weather it is here at home, at the cafe’, church, coffee houses, BLOGGING, at School or there in Honduras. You are an amazing Young Woman and I’m proud to call you my Daughter, Sister, and Friend.

    I LOVE and Miss you
    MOM

    P.S. Thanks Bri

Leave a Reply

