Honduras Part 5: “The body is weak, but I am willing…”

A temple where many go to worship a "sacred doll," and the dangerous neighborhood overlooking the conference site; apparently this is one of the most dangerous neighborhood is C.A., and the U.S. Embassy encourages U.S. citizens to not venture into this area. With a lack of enclosed windows, the sounds of our praises for Jesus Christ could be heart for miles I'm sure! : )

A temple where many go to worship a “sacred doll,” and the dangerous neighborhood overlooking the conference site. Apparently, this is one of the most dangerous neighborhoods in C.A., and the U.S. Embassy encourages U.S. citizens to not venture into this area. With a lack of enclosed windows, the sounds of our sweet praises for Jesus Christ our Lord could be heard for miles, and miles, I’m sure!

“For, ‘ALL FLESH IS LIKE GRASS, AND ALL ITS GLORY LIKE THE FLOWER OF GRASS. THE GRASS WITHERS, AND THE FLOWER FALLS OFF, BUT THE WORD OF THE LORD EDURES FOREVER.’ And this is the word which was preached to you.”    

1 Peter 1:24-25

DSCN4055

It is rare to be up before the sun in Honduras, being so close to the equator and all. However, every “sleeping beauty” rose sometime around 5:00 a.m. Sadly, there was no “handsome prince” to greet me…you see I was missing Mr. E quite a lot by then. Yet, I knew sharing at the women’s conference was a wonderful opportunity, and I was grateful for the gift to fellowship with so many wonderful sisters. Despite my longing to see my husband, and the crummy congestion brought on by the cold I packed with me on the plane, I was anticipating a great day! I knew Jesus had sent Terri, Ellen, and myself down to Honduras for such a time as this. There was a hush, and peace as we left the Morey casa that morning, knowing that our King would pave the way!

The wheels on the bus, go round, and round...and up, and down...all through the town!

The wheels on the bus, go round, and round…and up, and down…all through the town!

We made what we thought was going to be a quick little “pit stop” to pick up the 300 tortillas, and come to find out the ladies tortilla machine had broken down the night prior. Thankfully, they were finishing up the last 40 tortillas when we drove up. Our second stop was the church, where we loaded numerous women into the vehicles; it’s amazing just how many individuals can fit into a single vehicle when you really try : ) . Then we made our way out to the conference site to set up for the day.

Worshipping our Lord!

Worshipping our Lord!

Christine.

Christine.

Just the worship alone was enough to make this trip worth it! Honestly, there’s just something about the sincerity, and passion the Honduran believers reflect in their worship, and there were well over 100 women praising the Lord with all of their hearts! It was nice to see so many women workshipping together. Many of these women don’t get to devote an entire day to worshipping Jesus…so this was really special! Listening/watching them worship, reminded me, “this is not our home,” and caused me to consider if this might a little hint of what it will be like in Heaven. This was appropriate to meditate on that since the theme of a living, and eternal hope is peppered all throuout the book of 1 Peter; which is the study the conference was structured around (“A Holy Life”/”Una Vida Santa”).

Terri sharing her faith journey, and what it means to live a holy life.

Terri sharing her faith journey, and what it means to live a holy life.

My sweet sister, Marta, praying for Ellen.

My sweet sister, Marta, praying for Ellen.

God did some beautiful work in the hearts of the women there. Both Terri and Ellen did a grand job teaching/sharing (Ellen told her testimony). I felt like my session and class went well too. However, right before my session I became very dizzy, and my body started aching. During my into. I told the women, “my body is weak…but I am willing.” I was just praying I wouldn’t get a “sneezing fit” while I was teaching, and praise God, I didn’t! : )

Me, feeling a little "under the weather."

Me, feeling a little “under the weather.”

Even though I speak a little Espanol, and can hold a conversation pretty well, I was not even close to being ready to teach a session in Espanol! It was such a blessing to do something like this to be done through an interpretor. With a foggy mind, it also supplied me with time to think before I spoke. And the focus wasn’t entirely on me, but on the interpretor as well.

IMG_0953

Many women came up to us afterwards thanking us, and encouraging us in the gifts God has given us. Overall, they seemed encouraged, and loved the pretty gifts Terri and Ellen had brought for us to give them.

Traveling home... "Honduran Style!"

Traveling home… “Honduran Style!”

It was a VERY long day! After piling in nearly twenty people; Honduran style, into the chruch bus for the trek across town, we arrived home around 7:00 p.m. . I went straight upstairs to take some cold medicine and rest.
Bracelets
I have been praying that the conference was a blessing to our sisters, and that even in the midst of trials, and hardship, when they look at their pretty bracelets we gave them, they will remember the conference, and  just how precious they are to their King! One lady that we know of came to know the Lord, and many continue to send greetings, and e-mails thanking us for coming down to share. May God continue to work through the words He gave us to speak, and may He continue to change the hearts, and homes in Honduras…as He has certainly changed ours through this opportunity to serve.
The sunset right after the conference.

The sunset right after the conference.

Leave a Reply

