“Souper Cheesy”

“Rain, rain, go away…”

rain

Well it’s another “grey Wednesday” here at the lake. It may be Spring break at the Elzinga cottage, but the Washington weather seems to be on a different page…it still feels like winter! Currently, I am sitting at our dining room table sipping on a nice cup of Earl, while gazing out on a very grey, and very damp landscape. For the past week  I’ve been reminding myself that I can’t get too hasty for those “May flowers.” Although, I seem to find my way to the colorful tulips, and yellow buds every time we step into the store these days. Oh, well! Spring will be here soon enough. I suppose rain is to be expected when Adelphia’s Spring break falls at the very beginning of March. For the moment, I’m content. Mr. E and I are grateful for the time of rest, and have been sure been enjoying our break together!

Keeping in theme with the cooler weather, we’ve decided to make this a “Souper Spring Break” with plenty of hot soup, and homemade rolls. Yesterday morning I spent the bulk of the morning in the kitchen preparing soups for this week’s meals. Mr. E has been looking forward to this day for weeks now, because yesterday was the day he got to have his one of his favorites for supper, Hungarian Mushroom soup! Hungarian Mushroom Soup isn’t exactly the healthiest soup, but sure is yummy (I’ll post the recipe soon…if you promise not to judge me…ha, ha.)! I also made the less fatty, high fiber, 15 Bean Soup, and a dozen of my mom’s famous cheese rolls. Being in the kitchen again was a real treat! I love cooking for my hubby!

These "golden goodies" are a "taste of home" for me. They remind me of the ones my mom use to make when the Johnson clan headed up to Mt. Ashland for Saturday Night Ski. Somehow, even the ski lift operators would find there way over to our  table to snatch a couple...it was okay though, because in exchange they'd allow Kat and I to hop on the ski lifts for FREE!

These “golden goodies” are a “taste of home” for me. They remind me of the ones my mom use to make when the Johnson clan headed up to Mt. Ashland for Saturday Night Ski. Somehow, even the ski lift operators would find there way over to our table to snatch a couple…it was okay though, because in exchange they’d allow Kat and I to hop on the ski lifts for FREE!

After our a productive day of household chores, and “Spring cleaning,” we enjoyed our tasty supper, and decided to take time for a little R&R. We’ve been wanting to break in our new tent and sleeping bags for some time, but once again, given the weather outside, traditional camping was not an option. So, we camped out in the living room! It was fun! Mr. E even loaded the sounds of a steam, and campfire on his computer for ambiance. While I love sights, sounds, and smells of the traditional campfire, I’ve decided that Macbook fires are a good alternative if you’re in a pinch! All in all, yesterday was another lovely day…

We snatched up this great 2 person tent at the R.E.I. yard sale in P-town over Christmas break. What a deal!

We found this great 2 person tent at the R.E.I. Yard Sale in   P-town over Christmas break. What a deal!

“And that’s how city kids do fire!”

Mrs. E

P.S. Tomorrow we head down to the coast for a little getaway that we won at the Mission’s Conference in P-town this past January. On Friday we will be celebrating 6 months of marriage, so this is perfect timing for us to retreat for a few days! It sure is a blessing. We never to cease to be amazed at how our Heavenly Father continues to provide for us, and gives us good gifts! We’re both really looking forward to this, and according to the forecast Mr. E found, it looks like sunshine for both Friday and Saturday. Yay!

Leave a Reply

