What are you waiting for?

PrayerWalk
If we all are willing to admit it, most of us probably have something in our lives that we feel is right around the corner and we are just waiting for it to come. It may be a number of different things (a job, a move, a possession, a friendship, a relationship, a child, an answered prayer, Heaven etc). Our hope is often that what we are waiting on is just around the next bend in the road, but the reality often is that it is farther off than we desire it to be….and we are not fans of that. While we may not like the times of waiting, God is more than okay with it. We may see it as being stuck, but God sees waiting through the lens of something deeply active and transformational. As you may know, God is not restricted by time or space….therefore, he sees things through an eternal lens. Knowing this, could it be that God has designed us to wait for very specific reasons? I sure am beginning to think so! But don’t just take my word for it…. Scripture is packed full with story after story of waiting and amazing transformations that came as a result. Why? Because they trusted God in the waiting. Think about it…. Noah waiting for the flood to be over, Daniel waiting in a den of lions to be rescued, Joseph waiting in prison for a crime he didn’t commit, Abraham and Sarah waiting for their child, Mary waiting for nine months with the Son of God in her womb, Mary and Martha waiting for Jesus to come and raise Lazauras from the dead, Christ himself waiting for the cross and the disciples and followers of Christ waiting in Jerusalem for the Spirit of God. The book of Revelation even leaves all of us in a position of waiting for the second and final coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

I too am waiting. What for? Well, that is constantly changing. I could list a whole slew of things today, the biggest one at the moment being the answer to the questions: “What’s next? And how do I prepare for what’s next when I’m not certain of what that is?”

When I was young I couldn’t wait to grow up. I was constantly waiting for each little change and step I would have to take to get there: solid foods, crawling, walking, running, learning to read and write, 1st day of school, 6thgrade graduation, jr. high, first job, high school, drivers license, 18thBirthday, high school graduation, college, falling in love, marriage, 1sthome, starting a family, raising a family, grandkids, etc. Can you relate with this?

Little did I know, there never comes a point in this life when you arrive at this fully mature grown-up state; we are all constantly changing, growing, maturing and yes…WAITING. The LORD has continued to show me over the past number of years that it doesn’t matter if you are eighteen, twenty-seven or ninety-eight, poor or rich, unintelligent or brilliant, single, married or widowed….we are all waiting for something. He has also reminded me that he never calls us to wait without making a promise or having a purpose in the waiting. Jeremiah 29:11 reminds us of this truth: “‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.’” But we often forget to take a good look at the verse previous to this, it says: “For thus says the LORD, ‘When seventy years have been completed for Babylon, I will visit you and fulfill My good word to you, to bring you back to this place.’” Verse 10 speaks of the seventy year transformational plan. Something active and something transformational takes place within us during the waiting. The waiting is not the focus here. God is a God that is filled with promise and purpose…this is the true focus.

It is easy to proclaim this truth. However, it is SO hard for me to live it out. In fact, it is impossible apart from God.

To be completely transparent with you, the last couple of months have been a little bit of a challenge for me in this particular area of waiting. In fact, the past month has been particularly difficult. There were moments where I wanted to take all control and other times I just wanted to give up, break down and wallow in the worry that can sometimes fill my mind and overtake my heart. Thankfully, the LORD helped me resist my flesh and turn instead to him and his promises.  Clinging to God’s promises is a daily, moment by moment practice. I know that tomorrow morning I will wake up with my greatest obstacle in this whole struggle…myself. That is why it is so important that with each new day I need to choose to be renewed in God’s truth. I absolutely need to be in the Word and in constant prayer with my Heavenly Father. I know that apart from God I would be completely and utterly lost!

My circumstances have not changed. However,  I can tell you that by the grace and power of God my heart is slowly being transformed into something beautiful, something holy. And that is worth waiting for!

As we comb the Scriptures waiting is found to be a theme all throughout God’s plan. So, what are you waiting for? Do you happen to be waiting for God to make a radical transformation in your life? Cause I’ll tell you what, God is always ready to transform lives and hearts and waiting is one of the tools he has chosen to use to do this. Waiting is not an obstacle, it is a divine tool. The world claims that instant gratification is what is best, most rewarding and only way to go. And there have been times when I’ve even tricked myself into thinking this garbage is truth. However, quick and easy is NOT what God has planned. “A microwave Spirituality” is NOT the reality. I mean really, are T.V. dinners more satisfying than the home cooked meals that take all day to prepare? That is a no brainer. If we wouldn’t choose a “Hungry Man” microwave dinner over a warm homemade spread of delectable delights, why will we choose temporary satisfaction over waiting for God’s eternal will? This too should be a no brainer. Wait, be still and let God be God.

In Psalm 46:10 God commands, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Remember God’s purposes continue to unfold as we live. Transformations come only when we go the long way round!

Peace be with you today,

Mrs. E

2 thoughts on “What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

